Career & Work

Transition in a Stretch Assignment

Good morning readers!

I can’t believe it’s been several months (feels like years) since I’ve last posted. Those university years of my life where I’d sit in the Students’ Union Building and take a break to reflect and blog seem so long ago.

This morning, I woke up to a fall frenzy of wind, rain, and, well, an evening where I accidentally slept with my string of night lights on. (Oh well!) I’m totally cool — will get over it. #LessonLearned

Anyways, I made my way over to a really cute little European cafe/Chinese bakery down the street from my humble Bay Street home this morning. I’ve been plopped here for the last hour or so cleaning my inbox (got a new screen protector a few weeks ago – yay!)

Staying on topic, I started a new role about 2 weeks ago? It’s definitely been a whirlwind. I tend to go into cycles (roller coasters) of emotions. (Funny side note: I went to Canada’s Wonderland for the first time ever last month!) Deciding whether or not to take on this role, weighing pros/cons, trusting in Him that the opportunities placed on my path are there for a reason, and then accepting. My mentor says it’s the same as what I’ve been doing all along. Yet… it feels so different.

Picture this: Week 1 – WTF is going on? Previous lead sends you a stack of documents and runs (literally RUNS) you through it. Gaps included. You finally understand what is going on, the players involved, and then start executing on it yourself. Meanwhile, your previous role isn’t over yet (and in my case, your teammate goes on vacation and asks you to take on their role as well.) SHIETT. Someone say balancing act? The scariest part of taking on something new is, in my opinion, the part where you don’t know what you don’t know. There’s no other way to make it sound more elegant. You’re in a world of sticky notes, notes, and sometimes you just get lost among all of it. (Talk to folks and don’t be afraid to ask questions. Shout out to those I’ve asked my many questions!)

Week 2 – Spent digging yourself out of it. Getting your sh*t together, so to speak. It’s been…fun? Steve Jobs once famously quoted, “You cannot connect the dots looking forward; you can only connect them looking back.” Looking back, the lessons I learned on my very first project have stayed with me until today. And I am so glad it did.

I developed a “mini model” to figured out my scope of work, calculate what would be completed week over week, tie in room for some contingency (now that I think of it, I should increase this more to be safe), and figure out resourcing. Then there’s all the “other stuff”, like coordinating with your team, preparing documents/templates/processes, and learning the actual material, etc. To say the least, every waking hour of my last 2 weeks has been on this role. Yet, I still feel like I’m missing something. (*Cue the Miss Perfection soundtrack.) My manager says, the best leads are those who don’t even have to be there. (Hmm… no wonder I’ve been by myself lately. HAHAH!)

Tiny voice inside reminding me to EMBRACE FAILURE. It’s OK TO FAIL. Do not be afraid to fail. FAIL.

It’s a safe place to “fail”.

Anyways, it’s been fun. I’d better get back to getting to the bottom of my inbox and making sure I have everything prepared to start on Monday. It’s been great to write again. Maybe I’ll do a post on leadership later.

Ciao! Thanks for reading.
-tyw.

Leave a Reply

