Friendships & Relationships / Personal / Reflection

[2013] A New Chapter! (New City Transition & Green.dot Life)

Dear friends,

The past 3.5 months (June end – October 2013):

Looking back on my journey to my new city, it wasn’t always smooth sailing and sunshine. The 6 months that led up to this great life transition for me was one of many failures, challenges, and a lot of love and support from my friends and family.

“For the plans I have for you,” declares the Lord, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future.” – Jeremiah 29:11. His love is unfailing and I know He has great plans for me here.

From my last few days in the “old” city before my departure to the days, weeks, and months that followed, I have been surrounded by so much love and support. Sometimes I forget to say “Thank you” or may seemingly take things for granted, but I am thankful that you never blame me and always give me the benefit of the doubt. I love you all, thank you!

Deep down inside, you know that you are constantly on my mind – be it in my prayers, on my Happiness collage, or through my sporadic messages from thinking about you! The uniqueness of our friendship is a kind that has no boundaries – from sitting across from each other and being within one another’s embrace to being halfway across the world from each other… the feeling still feels the same and we always pick up where we left off.

In just 3 months, my experiences have doubled or even tripled what I was previously exposed to before. Each week feels like an entire month here and I am constantly being pushed out of my comfort zone – you know just how much I love that. Sometimes I have no idea what I’m doing, but there’s a calming sensation within me that tells me “everything is going to be OK.” When I’m particularly stressed, I know I have someone to turn to right away and that is probably one of the most comforting things that puts me at ease. There’s a lot I would have been afraid of maybe 2 years ago, but I am finding peace in what I do. (Sometimes slowly, but always surely.) My one wish is that you continue to have me in your prayers and that God will continue to guide me along His plan for me and that I may glorify His name wherever I am.

A particular glimpse of  my life in the city and the firm: client work, firm work, team socials, firm training, early mornings, late nights, managing the home and workplace, developing new relationships, learning to be independent and making decisions on my own, and a handful of amazing people I have met along the way. Social life on weekends… whenever they occur. Weekdays are busy, weekends are pretty busy too, but I am striving for that balance each day to make sure I fall asleep with a smile on my face.

I am still learning, growing, failing, and developing. Thank you for being a major part of it.

Ps. And in case I’ve forgotten to say “Thank You” to you, I actually secretly keep it in my personal Gratitude Journal and sometimes write you a letter: http://hergratitudejournal.tumblr.com/

Love,
tyw.

Leave a Reply

