Personal / Reflection

Life Event: Resignation

Today marks are very special day. I officially handed in my resignation to a part-time position I have held ever since I was in high school.

I remember when I was younger and my mother would not let me resign or “quit.” (There’s a plaque on top of our piano with a little message that’s titled, “Don’t Quit.”) As a child, I always had an excuse, but my gut feeling always told me to listen to my parents. (Just as the 5th Commandment says!) I did. After 7 years, I am resigning – not because I want to, but because I need to.

During those years, I learned a lot about myself, relationships in the workplace, and how to manage conflicts. The service industry exposed me to many different and interesting situations.  As I watched my manager change 3-4x and my teammates go through different stages of their lives, despite working few hours, I made them a part of my “weekend family” and watched each person grow in one way or another. Learning through their sharing and their actions, my all-female team was my team of “sistas!” (I am the youngest and some even have grandchildren.) As I bid them adieu in a few weeks, I leave with a heart filled with gratitude and many new friendships. From the days I started, I was  a young girl, and now I have matured into a lady. It’s quite bittersweet, but I know they are all very happy for me and we will keep in touch! (Thank you for the wonderful memories over the years.)

Recently, I  read an article about a study that  showed students who held a part-time position at the age of 15-16 would earn 20-25% more in their full-time work than if they did not. I also watched a TED Talk about grit being an indicator of success. I am not saying that I am   earning much more than I would have had I not had a part-time position (I really don’t know) nor am I saying I am successful, but what my situation has really stressed to me is the fact that perseverance and experience has pulled me through a lot of  difficult situations in my life. (It’s funny, but sometimes work was therapeutic when I was having a really stressful week at school.) Nevertheless, our lives are interconnected and how you approach a situation in one aspect of your life is highly indicative of how you approach another aspect of your life. (This is why we have behavioral interviews! haha)

As they say, hindsight is 20/20. Steve Jobs’s famous quote goes, “You cannot connect the dots looking forward, you can only connect them looking back.” This quote has run true time and time again.

Leave a Reply

