Friendships & Relationships / Personal

The Power of Technology (Lost & Found: Important People)

Absolutely unbelievable!

In an incredibly small world, and just by chance, I was able to find my very first child care teacher today. For about 10 years of my life, I was raised by a multicultural group of women at a private child care centre. It was during this time that I developed the foundation of who I have become today.

Miss Christiane probably met me when I was 3-years-old. (However, I feel like she knew me at birth.) Today, by fluke, I was helping a friend out with a program on the internet and my eye caught sight of a very familiar first and last name of one of her online contacts. A million questions ran through my head:

“Is this your friend? Did she used to work at… Does she have children named… Does she have a nephew named… What are they doing now? How have you they been? How is she? Is she still… Does she still have…”

Needless to say, through the power of technology, I was immediately brought back into her world as I connected with her from the palm of my hand. She remembered the minute details of my youth —my age, my personality, my keen focus on education. It was amazing. She sent me “hugs” over mobile networks and asked me to write down her number. I saved her email address and felt like a part of my history had returned to me.

The activities which took place in the decade that separated us seemed to have vanished by the millisecond. I never thought much of what happened after we parted ways on that summer day in June when our lives headed down different roads. A page in my life had simply turned and that was it. Now and then, I would ponder about what happened to so and so, but these thoughts became more distant to me as life was to project forward.

Today it was revived again. And I am forever grateful for that.

What an incredible feeling.

-Thank You

Reblogged from: Her Gratitude Journal

Leave a Reply

