Culinary Arts / Family

An Unforgettable Christmas Dinner (PHOTOS included)

This year, we had a non-traditional Christmas dinner. Growing up, we celebrated with my aunt/uncle/cousins; however, it seems that times have now changed. My cousins got married, started their own families, and even moved away. This is very different for me, but I guess as that chapter of my life closes and this Christmas is a transition, I decided to be the family’s chef. (More like I was appointed this role!)

Nevertheless, I created a menu a few weeks ago, and also reached out to my dad for assistance. In fact, he cooked the meat for this meal, but I did the more unique dishes! Enjoy the slideshow & recipes below. If you like what you see, I have another post on some of my cooking from the time I moved away from home.

Wong Family Christmas Dinner Menu
(a tyw Production)

~ * ~

Tomato & Basil Bruschetta
(Parboiled tomatoes seasoned with a raspberry balsamic vinegar, fresh basil leaves, and minced garlic with salt and pepper, on top of a perfect slice of Tuscan Rustic Bread.)

Quinoa with Purple Onions & Cucumber
(Quinoa pan fried with butter until golden, then boiled in a chicken broth until tender. Stirred in a mixture of purple onions, garlic, and fresh-squeezed lemon juice with a side of fresh cucumbers.)

Chicken Cordon Bleu (Marble Cheese)
(Seasoned chicken breast wrapped around ham and fresh marble cheese baked at over 400’C covered with a creamy mushroom sauce.)

Asparagus  & Seasoned Potatoes
(Lightly boiled and panfried asparagus with melted butter. Mini potatoes seasoned and baked to a light crisp.)

~ * ~

Hazelnut & Dark Chocolate Biscotti
(Homemade biscotti cooked with ounces of love by a perfectionist! Secret recipe.)

~ * ~

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

The recipes I used for the bruschetta is here. The quinoa recipe here.

For another blogpost on my cooking, check out: Because A Guy Loves A Girl Who Can Cook

Wishing all my readers a very Merry Christmas! (If you have any suggestions for blogpost topics, feel free to drop me a line in the comments here.)

Leave a Reply

