Reflection

November, Then Christmas

Dear friends (and anonymous readers):

It’s been awhile since I last made a post. (7 days ago.) Life has been insane this past week, and the next 2 weeks are not going to be easier. (Make that 4 weeks.) Can you believe it – it’s going to be Christmas in less than a month! Where did that semester go? What happened since the summer time?

As I sit here with my macbook, a latte, my BlackBerry, and the National Post (because the School of Business no longer offers The Globe and Mail, but I’ve grown to love the National Post too now), I am feeling a tad exhausted. My mind has just ran a marathon and it’s time to rejuvenate. These soft lights and the calming ambience at the university could have put me to sleep at any point, but with the meeting of eyes between a friend and I, my world was welcomed with a jolt of energy today. (Thanks, Chrissy!) Nevertheless, time, our most valuable commodity, seems to get shorter and shorter as we grow older.

Today, I was having a chat with my co-op coordinator (he’s become a mentor/counsellor of mine over the last 2 years of our relationship) and we were discussing “life”; more specifically, the “Next Chapter,” that time after one graduates and joins the rest of society. For real. But is it so? No room for slack? All serious, no fun? Really, it’s all about balance. You can likely kiss the 4-month holidays good bye, but when was the last time you actually used those 4 months for a holiday anyways? Honestly, you will not know the exact details of your journey ahead. Set your goals and have your 1, 2, 3, 5, 10, 20 year plans, but be flexible and open to the opportunities around you. “The world is your new playground.” Have fun!

I’ve seen students at the university do some crazy shit over the years. (Apologies for the profanity, but that’s how they describe it.) It makes me wonder: 1) Why? 2) Was it worth it? 3) How has it affected them now? Heck, I have too! Regardless, we all make decisions. I guess this post is partially about decision making. The older you become, the more you realize the consequences of your actions or inactions, and I think that’s why life seems more “real.” When you’re younger, the responsibility seems less, but it only seems that way, because it is often masked by your parents. (Degree of this differs by family.) The experiences you accumulate growing up shape who you become and well, I guess, look at me now!

I’ll keep this post short and simple, and give you that to ponder about. How have the decisions in your life brought you to where you are now? What are some decisions you will make that will affect your future?

In closing (back to my day), my day took a 180-turn when my girl friend, Nurin, came to join me and we had a heart-to-heart chat before checking out the university’s observatory. To add the cherry on top, Jonn (our awesome friend also from the Millennium Network), came to join us! We learned about the double star, alberio, and saw some meteorites, as well as one of the telescopes built by our university.

Have an amazing weekend and good luck for your upcoming projects, assignments, papers, presentations, and exams. Remember, it’s all about decisions and balance. Christmas is right around the corner and for most of us, that’s a time for a lot of really good food!

Here’s a great song to kick off your weekend and get you motivated! (Desmond Tutu dances too and “You must be the change you wish to see in the world.” is rapped!)

One thought on “November, Then Christmas

  1. Pingback: Undergraduate Degree Finale (4-month PHOTO recap): Living the Balanced life « tyw lifestyle blog

Leave a Reply

