Family

A Letter to the Bride & Groom (A poem)

Today is my (favorite) cousin’s wedding. I was honoured when he asked me to be a part of his wedding and expressed how much it would mean to him. I have several cousins (my mother has 7 sisters and 1 brother), and Ronny has always been there for me. Growing up, we have footage of him playing boxing with me and waking me up in the middle of my sleep. As I got older, I would play video games with him and we’d “chill.” He was always so happy and laid back. Everybody liked talking to him.

Nevertheless, this is a poem for him. (It’s time to jet off to YYC now.)

NOTE: At his wedding, I actually read a different poem. I spent a full day looking for one and this perfectly captured what I wanted to say – The Art of A Good Marriage.

A Letter to the Bride and Groom

Dear Terry,
Today, I formally welcome you into our family.
But in fact, from the day I met you, I had a feeling you would be the one.
Your sweet smile, kind heart, and humble personality attracted me the most.
And while the family embraced you with arms wide open,
You had the natural ability to bring upon a smile to those you met.
From strangers, we instantly became friends,
And then Facebook friends, and even BBM friends, where we would chat about our daily lives.
Despite our physical distance, your sincere love could be felt.
And you were genuinely interested in bringing our relationship closer.
For that, I thank you.
And I cannot wait to finally start calling you my cousin!

Dear Ronny,
Throughout the past 22 years, we have been sharing our lives.
From learning to play my first video games and having annual Christmas sleepovers,
To meeting your very first girl friends and discussing career plans.
You have always been there for me,
And you are someone I look up to and  share my personal feelings with.
Today I am honoured to be a part of your special moment,
Because I know that your glowing smile will be everlasting and with Terry, you will build an even happier life.
To my favorite cousin, this is what you deserve.
And I am so proud of your decision – she’s a real catch!

I wish you both a lifetime of joy and love. And may God bless you and watch over you. Congratulations!

2 thoughts on “A Letter to the Bride & Groom (A poem)

  1. Pingback: Undergraduate Degree Finale (4-month PHOTO recap): Living the Balanced life « tyw lifestyle blog

Leave a Reply

